Dakota Staton: Jazz Legend

5 thoughts on “Dakota Staton: Jazz Legend

  1. My stepmother is a big fan of music of that era. And Dakota in particular. Thanks to her we saw Dakota at a small jazz club in Cambridge, Mass. maybe (I’m guessing here) 20 years ago. Club so small that when she came off stage we got a chance to talk to her briefly. I don’t recall much about the show but I remember her being happy to meet such a rapturous fan. And my stepmother was thrilled. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for sharing your family’s wonderful experience with meeting Mrs. Staton. Meeting legends is something you never forget. Welcome to my blog!

      Like

  2. I remember hearing that about her years ago. She was very talented artist. When people discuss jazz they don’t mention her very much. I think she was very under rated.
    I checked out your Tumblr page. It’s pretty cool! You have some good stuff on that page.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I didn’t know about Mrs Staton until I watched the documentary Brown Sugar: 80 Years of Black Female Superstars. I don’t recall her story was told in that doc, but I stumbled upon her bio while researching the sistas whose stories were featured in that documentary. It’s sooo many greatly talented sistas that got lost in herstory/history.

      “I checked out your Tumblr page. It’s pretty cool! You have some good stuff on that page.”

      Thanks! I’m glad you like it. Feel free to stop by anytime.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

