Quote of the Day

Rev. Dr. Mitzi J. Smith
                                                    Rev. Dr. Mitzi J. Smith

“For me as a black woman to say God is like me is to claim that there is nothing inferior about me as a Black woman. But there is something divine-like in me as a Black woman. And I can always tap into that divinity while inhabiting this black woman’s body and standing in my hermeneutical circle. My Designer hair, lips, hips, skin colors, unique accent are divine. I can look at me and see God.  I do not disappear in the face of God or in the face of a man.  When I hear “God,” I see me. She is like me. I am like Her. I am like God. Yet God stands apart from me molding, emboldening, informing, correcting, upholding, protecting, and empowering me.” – Rev. Mitzi J. Smith, Ph.D. (teacher, preacher, biblical scholar, author, blogger, and founder/president of Living in Full Empowerment) from her blogpost God Is A Black Woman and She Is Divine

Leave a Reply

