Flashback Friday: The Original Black Woman Edition

Wooo
Hey, Hey my my black pearl
Precious little girl
Let me put you up where you belong
Black pearl
Pretty little girl
You’ve been in the background much too long

You’ve been workin’ so hard your whole life through
Tending other peoples houses raising up their children too
Hey how bout something for me and you
Here in my arms you’re gonna reign supreme
No more serving baby, they’re gonna serve my queen
It’s our turn for happiness and our day has come
Living for each other and answering to no one

Black pearl precious little girl
Let me put you up where you belong because I love you
Black pearl pretty little girl
You’ve been in the background much too long
Together we’ll stand so straight and so tall
Created by love to love one and all
Heart to heart, soul to soul
No other one could ever take your place
My world is built around the very smile that’s on your face
You’ll never win a beauty show no they won’t pick you
But you’re my Miss America and I love you

Black pearl precious little girl
Let me put you up where you belong, I will lead you
Black pearl pretty little girl
You’ve been in the background much too long

Oooo my my my baby
You know I need you, you know I want you, want you for myself
I want you, want you for myself where I know you’re not with anybody else
(repeat, improv and fade)

Lyrics from Wikia

(Intro)
Black Pearl, Precious little girl
Let me lift you up where you belong

(Verse 1)
Comin at’cha, can you feel what I’m feelin’ Some soul sister need some natural healing Gifted but shifted, so come follow meCause I’mma take you on a sister to sister journey Run to get mine, better get ‘fore they grab it Like cold pepsi-cola, gotta say I gots-ta have it Stayin back too long, when you really got it goin’ on It ain’t nothing wrong with being strong, but you don’t hear me though

(Chorus)
Black Pearl, Precious little girl
Let me lift you up where you belong
Black Pearl, Pretty little girl
You’ve been in the background much too long

(Verse 2)
Now, all my sisters with the bangles, tryin’ on earings
Tryin shopping with the Fendi’s and ain’t got a penny
High school drop-out, only sixteen like she don’t know no better
Don’t think it’s a crime, cause nobody’s there to tell her
Life is scarce, if you don’t take a chance you’re losin honey
The streets’ll be the only place you make your money

Let’s get it together, that’s the price you have to pay
And if you live for the streets you’ll see a better day
One nation, under the groove, we got it open
If we’d just learn to stick together, you know what I mean?
Stop killin’ each other, learn to love each other
For the sake of a mother and a brother
Run to get mine, better get ‘fore they grab it
Like cold pepsi-cola, gotta say I gots-ta have it
Stayin back too long, when you really got it goin’ on
It ain’t nothing wrong with being strong, but you don’t hear me though

(Chorus)

(Verse 3)
What I’m kickin ain’t no joke, you better listen up Black black precious, and pretty black pearl Yeah, I done been around the world and it’s still all the same Everybody’s still gotta a little shame in their game Scared to admit, Well here’s something you can lean on Hum the chorus to this song…It’s a lot of strings attached don’t let him play you like a buppy You gotta stay above it or your just like the rest of ’em Following some dry-ass dream, scared to move on and be more than you friends Self-motivation, for your self-motivate set the two Black Pearl’s dedicated from Yo to you Run to get mine, better get ‘fore they grab it Like cold pepsi-cola, gotta say I gots-ta have it Stayin back too long, when you really got it goin’ on Now tell me what’s wrong with being strong

Lyrics from Genius.com

“I’m Every Woman”

[Chorus:]
I’m every woman, it’s all in me
Anything you want done, baby
I’ll do it naturally
I’m every woman, it’s all in me
I can read your thoughts right now
Every one from A to Z

I can cast a spell
With secrets you can’t tell
Mix a special brew
Put fire inside of you
But anytime you feel
Danger or fear
Instantly I will appear, ’cause

[Chorus]

I can sense your needs
Like rain on to the seeds
I can make a rhyme
Of confusion in your mind
And when it comes down
To some good old fashioned love
That’s what I’ve got plenty of, ’cause

[Chorus]

I ain’t braggin’ ’cause I’m the one
You just ask me ooh and it shall be done
And don’t bother to compare
‘Cause I’ve got it
I’ve got it, I’ve got it, yeah

I’m every woman
[Repeat and fade]

Lyrics from AZLyrics

2 thoughts on “Flashback Friday: The Original Black Woman Edition

  1. Great post sis! I love it! Whitney is my girl! I miss her so much. So wrong what they did to her(if you know what I mean). Chaka is the truth. Chaka is a truly soulful queen. I haven’t heard that Sonny Charles in a long time. Thanks for that.
    I love Yoyo! She is big on the west coast! She is still a cutie. When I was younger I wanted to marry her.lol Thanks for this great post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome! All of these women are legends and that sonny charles song is an inspiration, every black woman and girl need to hear that song. I hope that the ones that haven’t already stumble upon this post or on yt to hear it. I know what ya mean about Whitney, her death was senseless, gosh I didn’t know at one time that there could be so much evil going on behind the scenes. smdh. I’m sure there are a lotta beautiful sistas you would like to marry, lol.

      Like

Leave a Reply

