Throwback Thursdays: The Original Black Woman Edition

“Ladies First” (feat. Monie Love)

Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first

(Funky)
(Funky)

[Queen Latifah]
The ladies will kick it, the rhyme that is wicked
Those that don’t know how to be pros get evicted
A woman can bear you, break you, take you
Now it’s time to rhyme, can you relate to
A sister dope enough to make you holler and scream

[Monie Love]
Ayo, let me take it from here, Queen…
Excuse me but I think I’m about do
To get into precisely what I am about to do
I’m conversating to the folks who have no whatsoever clue
So listen very carefully as I break it down for you
Merrily merrily merrily merrily hyper happy overjoyed
Pleased with all the beats and rhymes my sisters have employed
Slick and smooth throwing down the sound totally a yes
Let me state the position: Ladies first, yes? (Yes)

(Yeah, there’s going to be some changes in here)

Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first

[Monie Love]
Believe me when I say being a woman is great, you see
I know that all the fellas out there will agree with me
Not the being one but the being with one
Because when it’s time for loving it’s the woman that gets some
Strong, stepping, strutting, moving on
Rhyming, cutting, and not forgetting
We are the ones that give birth
To the new generation of prophets because it’s Ladies First

[Queen Latifah]
I break into a lyrical freestyle
Grab the mic, look at the crowd and see smiles
Cause they see a woman standing up on her own two
Sloppy slouching is something I won’t do
Some think that we can’t flow (can’t flow)
Stereotypes, they got to go (got to go)
I’m a mess around and flip the scene into reverse
(With what?) With a little touch of “Ladies First”

Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first

(Yeah, there’s going to be some changes made here)

[Queen Latifah]
Who said that the ladies couldn’t make it, you must be blind
If you don’t believe, well here, listen to this rhyme
Ladies first, there’s no time to rehearse
I’m divine and my mind expands throughout the universe
A female rapper with the message to send the
Queen Latifah is a perfect specimen

[Monie Love]
My sister, can I get some?

[Queen Latifah]
Sure, Monie Love, grab the mic and get dumb

[Monie Lovie]
Yo, praise me not for simply being what I am
Born in L-O-N-D-O-N and sound American
You dig exactly where I’m coming from
You want righteous rhyming, Imma give you some
To enable you to aid yourself and get paid
And the material that has no meaning I wish to slay
Pay me every bit of your attention
Like mother, like daughter, I would also like to mention
I wish for you to bring me to, bring me to the rhythm
Of which is now systematically given
Desperately stressing I’m the daughter of a sister
Who’s the mother of a brother who’s the brother of another
Plus one more; all four
Have a job to do, we doing it
Respect due, to the mother who’s the root of it
And next up is me, the M-O-N-I-E L-O-V-E
And I’m first cause I’m a L-A-D-I-E

[Queen Latifah]
Contact and in fact, the style, it gets harder
Cooling on the scene with my European partner
Laying down track after track, waiting for the climax
When I get there, that’s when I tax
The next man, or the next woman
It doesn’t make a difference, keep the competition coming
And I’ll recite the chapter in verse
The title of this recital is “Ladies First”

Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first
Oooh, Ladies first, ladies first

[Queen Latifah]
Step out into the night
Queens of civilization are on the mic
The scene is right, the crowd is hype
I expel the wack and those who bite
Why, cause I’m that type
Swaying with beats 45 King style
He wants me to sing but I swing, so meanwhile
A footnote for the opposite sex
Monie ripped the mic, I rocked it next
Plex, you never catch me at my worst
You get the drift? It’s Ladies First

“Latifah’s Had It Up 2 Here”

The Queen is hyped up
The Queen is hyped up
The Queen is hyped up
The Queen is hyped up

Ayo Manda
What’s up La
Yo people have been trying to get fierce on me,
I think it’s time I tell them about themselves
Yo just give it to them safari style

Well, well, well it’s L.A
The T.I
The F.A.H
You’ll see why
Q.U
Double E.
N
Is the reason I must be myself
What else?
Well fame hasn’t got me
Souped up
Selling out
Sloppy or poppy
There so much live for
There for
Here’s more from a woman
All woman
Keep the rumors
To Your
Self
The over blown
Home grown
Not known
Fools who never shown
Proof let alone own
A lot of props
Or hip hip pop chart
Notch on your clock is my spot
Now who got the marks?
I do
Why you little played out Achew
(Bless You)
I’m allergic to wack crews
The La
The Ti
The Fah
The Queen is up
Throwing salt that you never seen before
How dare
Those who talk
We can’t have them
Some make me wanna go out with the bat and a magnum
But a wise
Civilized
Growing higher
Judgment’s from the queen
Punish is the fire
I here to make these fools out of liars
You must learn step and respect the sire
Face the fire
Latifah had it up to here the frauds felling fear (fear)
The sound is playing like a Q-tip digging your ear (ear)
Mama Zula stands for positivity, knowledge, and grace
I never run my piece damn I’ll take it to your face
Open why you hoping
None stutter
Stop ’em
Maybe choke (choke)
Because it’s very hard to breathe
While La got you in a yolk
I’ll cut your throat
I’ll cut it short
No one ever getting near
Latifah’s had it up to here

[Chorus]
Give it to ’em Queen (Yeah Yeah Yeah)
Give it to ’em Queen (I got it)
Give it to ’em Queen (Yeah Yeah Yeah)
Give it to ’em Queen (I got it)
Give it to ’em Queen (Yeah Yeah Yeah)
Give it to ’em Queen (I got it)
Give it to ’em Queen (Yeah Yeah Yeah)
Queen L.A.T.I.F.A.H in command

Some of these commercial entertainers
Are commercially a pain to mind and my behind
Try to dis Dana
Bumping me off
Because the Queen has reached a certain plateau
All I do is boo and say “is that so?”
Talk is cheap
And if talk got any cheaper (huh)
They’ll be selling Nike tongues instead of sneakers
Kay sa rah sa rah
Blazay blah
Etcetera
This is a scene from the Queen La La
Lovely and lyrically loose
But lady like
I’m too slick to slip up or get tricked by the shady type
Chomps y’all talk and still wonder how loose I got
When I’m in town I give the boosters booster shots
Breaks
Breaks
Face
Face
Never
Never
Waste
Waste
Your mind on a rhyme
That will get thrown in your fronting face
I’ll cut your throat
I’ll cut it short
No one ever getting near
Latifah’s had it up to here

[Chorus]

Royal and loyal
Face the fire
Boy
You wouldn’t get the time of the day
So make way
Hey
Silence I say
Lay low and have a cold one
Cause the whipping I’m dishing is an old one
I through some soul into my morning bowl
Then I rolled
I took your gold and stopped your singled
Cause it ever never sold
Matter of fact it never even got the time to sprout
So you could never give me body or come in my house
The Flavor Unit is doing back again this year
How many flavors of the flavor can you love to hear
Feel the force of my holocaust
I’m staring at ya
Put in a bid on who will fall
I’m sure to match ya
Snatch ya
Stature
Your broken looks more like a fracture
Catch that rapper
Latifah will be back to crush ya
Go buy a heart
Cause from the start I told ya no one getting near
Latifah’s had it up to here

Give it to ’em Queen
(Who got it)
Give it to ’em Queen
(Latifah)

Give it to ’em Queen
(Who got it)
Give it to ’em Queen
(The Flavor Unit)

Give it to ’em Queen
(I got it)
Give it to ’em Queen
(Latifah)

Give it to ’em Queen
(DJ A.D)
Give it to ’em Queen
(Ease off)

Give it to ’em Queen
L.A
L.A
L.A.T.I.F.A.H in command

Give it to ’em Queen
L.A
L.A.T.I.F.A.H.H.H in command

Give it to ’em Queen
L.L.A
L.A.T.I.F.A.H in command

Give it to ’em Queen
L.A
L.A
L.A.T.I.F.A.H in command

L.A
L.A
L.A.T.I.F.A.H in command

“U.N.I.T.Y.”

Uh, U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity
U.N.I.T.Y., love a black man from infinity to infinity
(Who you calling a bitch?)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black woman from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black man from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)

Instinct leads me to another flow
Everytime I hear a brother call a girl a bitch or a ho
Trying to make a sister feel low
You know all of that gots to go
Now everybody knows there’s exceptions to this rule
Now don’t be getting mad, when we playing, it’s cool
But don’t you be calling out my name
I bring wrath to those who disrespect me like a dame
That’s why I’m talking, one day I was walking down the block
I had my cutoff shorts on right cause it was crazy hot
I walked past these dudes when they passed me
One of ’em felt my booty, he was nasty
I turned around red, somebody was catching the wrath
Then the little one said (Yeah me bitch) and laughed
Since he was with his boys he tried to break fly
Huh, I punched him dead in his eye and said “Who you calling a bitch?”

(Here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black woman from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)
(Here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black man from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)

I hit the bottom, there ain’t nowhere else to go but up
Bad days at work, give you an attitude then you were rough
And take it out on me but that’s about enough
You put your hands on me again I’ll put your ass in handcuffs
I guess I fell so deep in love I grew dependency
I was too blind to see just how it was affecting me
All I knew was you, you was all the man I had
And I was scared to let you go, even though you treated me bad
But I don’t want my kids to see me getting beat down
By daddy smacking mommy all around
You say I’m nothing without ya, but I’m nothing with ya
A man don’t really love you if he hits ya
This is my notice to the door, I’m not taking it no more
I’m not your personal whore, that’s not what I’m here for
And nothing good gonna come to ya til you do right by me
Brother you wait and see (Who you calling a bitch?)

(Here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black woman from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)
(Here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black man from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)

What’s going on in your mind is what I ask ya
But like Yo-Yo, you don’t hear me though
You wear a rag around your head and you call yourself
a “Gangsta Bitch” now that you saw Apache’s video
I saw you wilding, acting like a fool
I peeped you out the window jumping girls after school
But where did all of this come from?
A minute ago, you was a nerd and nobody ever heard of ya
Now you a wannabe… hard
You barely know your ABC’s, please
There’s plenty of people out there with triggers ready to pull it
Why you trying to jump in front of the bullet (Young lady)
Uh, and real bad girls are the silent type
Ain’t none of this work getting your face sliced
Cause that’s what happened to your homegirl, right? Bucking with nobody
She got to wear that for life (Who you calling a bitch?)

(Here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black woman from (You got to let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)
(Here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., U.N.I.T.Y. that’s a unity (You gotta let him know)
(You go, come on here we go)
U.N.I.T.Y., Love a black man from (You must let him know)
infinity to infinity (You ain’t a bitch or a ho)

“Just Another Day…”

[Talking]
We gon take this one over to 275 Paulstand
384 Steuyversant, we gon take it over to
155 Morgan
144 Harrison

[Chorus: x1]
Just Another Day, living in the hood
Just another day around the way
Feelin good today, feelin lovely-yay
Just another day, living in the hood
Just another day around the way
Feelin good today
I hear the(gunshot), but I’m here to stay

[Verse 1]
Well it’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood
A beautiful day in the neighbor-hood
Can’t go wrong, I feel strong and the flavor’s good
I’m wit whateva comes my way, hip-hop hooray
Latifah’s on vacation, I’m just plain on day to day
I strap out, step out in every direction
Glock, tech’s, jimmy hat’s, in case I need protection
So I land cruise, play I wanna be’s
A kid in the increase gettin jack right in front of me
So I pull the tech close, my finger’s on the trigger
Don’t wanna get wet, so they step
Cause mine’s is slighty bigger
But better yet, I’ma threat, so ya better walk
Or get sketched out in chalk, cause I don’t wanna talk
I stay true blue, I’m hopin it’s you too
I got the fever for the flava of a [?]
So it’s back to the block time to play
It’s just another day around the way, hey

[Chorus: x1]

[Chorus: x1]

[Verse 2]
Time to chill, hit the hill, uptown let’s keep it sight’s
Shoot some pool, act a fool, cause it’s own tonight
I’m doin the knowledge, it’s not easy, easy
Watchin a cop cuff a kid for sellin a clip to a D.T.
But it’s home, so I flex, get pressure’s off my chest
Slip in a tape, now which hood should I hit next
Stomach ache, had a steak, and take for a bean pie
Get a final call for the brother in a bow-tie
I’m from little kid’s, dream, and fiend for fun
Lots of laughter moms, no pops playin wit her son
I pass by a girl wake, they say she died at seven
Hit by a stray, but I pray their’s a hood in heaven
Fake brother’s claim their’s no shame in they’re game
You know my name, show me a real nigga wit a brain
Too it’s back to the block time to play
It’s just another day around the way, hey

[Chorus: x1]

[Verse 3]
You know I gotta get props, I can’t stop, wit out y’all
I be nothin, no wreckin, no checkin, no rhymin, no cuttin
No stages from pages, no phones, no beeper’s
No reason to put Queen in front of the name Latifah
I come with the real like respectin in rule
Cause me and my peoples around the way remain cool
So it’s back to the block time to play
It’s just another day, around the wha, around the muthafuckin way

[Chorus until fade]

Lyrics from A-Z Lyrics
14 thoughts on “Throwback Thursdays: The Original Black Woman Edition

  1. This is real hip hop right here! Uplifting and inspiring music for the youth. I grew up on this music. I really miss the old Latifah. I love that song Ladies First. I had the biggest crush on Monie Love.lol
    I also love the song UNITY. This is the music kids need today. I grew up on artists like Public Enemy,Brand Nubian,X Clan and KRS ONE. That was the golden era of hip hop. We need to bring it back. The stuff on the radio nowadays is garbage. And brainwashing kids to hate themselves and follow self destructive behavior.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love em all. Ladies First, Latifah had it up to here, and Unity are my top favorites of Queens. Last Friday evening I was on a trip down memory lane and decided that I will be doing posts like this every week; Throwback Thursdays and Flashback Fridays. Damn, I miss this era of hip hop…everybody does. LOl. My cousin and I was discussing a while back how we’re soooo glad we grew up in the 80s and 90s (we were born in the 80s). I see comments on youtube of those who were really young at this time are saying they wish they generation had made music like this and had this music to listen too. lol. I REALLY hope this music comes back ASAP! I co-sign 1000%. It’s uplifting, inspiring, and soul stirring!May I ask what decades you were born and grew up in?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I was born in the 70’s. I’m an old man.lol I do miss this era though. Even the R&B music was better in the 80’s and 90’s. Artists like Whitney,Janet Jackson,Sade,Pebbles,Prince,Marvin Gaye and Michael Jackson. Even music groups like New Edition,SWV,TLC,Jodeci,En Vogue,Boyz 2 Men,Guy,Klymaxx,Gap Band,Silk,Troop etc.. Man!! I miss that kind of music! Who are some of your favorites from back in the day? I could go on and on.lol

        Liked by 1 person

  2. My brothers are 70s babies. I’m assuming you’re in your late 30s, early 40s. You’re not old. If you’re 40something that’s the new 20something.

    Yes, all the music was great. I love Queen Latifah, Salt ‘n’Pepa, MC Lyte, Yo-Yo, Roxanne Shante, Monie Love, Lauryn Hill, DMX, The Real Roxanne, Janet Jackson, Whitney Houston, Brand Nubian, Biz Markie, Guy, Doug E. Fresh, Slick Rick, Eric B and Rakim, Nas, Big Daddy Kane, Kool Moe Dee, Public Enemy, Heavy D, Whodini, Prince, Micheal Jackson, Wu Tang, and soooo many others including many you have named. You’re right we can go on and on. lol. Imma be bringing these post from now on every week. I’m high on some old school rap, r&b right now.lol

    Liked by 1 person

      1. She’s sold out for sure. I just read that she’s playing singer Bessie Smith in a film for HBO. She has a scene kissing Tika Sumpter. They’re still promoting the homosexual agenda on black people. And Latifah is going right along with it. Sadly she is a lesbian anyway so that makes sense.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. *sigh* I saw the movie previews and thought that it would be a good biopic to watch, now idk? Remember I did a post on Bessie Smith. In my research of her I did not read anything saying she was a lesbian and I remember there is some shit written by albino mutants saying brother malcolm x was gay. I am and was livid! Slaughtering the legacies of our ancestors! If this shit keeps up, all famous blacks past and present would be portrayed or lied on as being gay or lesbian. smdh

        I’m sure you all will enjoy the flashback friday and throwback thursday posts.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You know rewriting history is what they do best. Some mutant wrote a book claiming the great Nat Turner was gay! Total blasphemy!! Even some black devils are out there too. Black author Manning Marable wrote a book claiming Malcolm might’ve had a gay white lover! Is this not insane?? Marable died a few years ago. I didn’t shed a tear for that low life bitch! I’m sick of these self hating punks that sell out their people to win the respect of albino mutants. Bessie,Malcolm and Nat we’re not gay. Homosexuality was always practiced in Greece and Rome. It’s a part of their culture. It comes natural to them. It’s not considered natural in African culture–and never will be. That’s why they’re trying to change history and make our heroes gay like they are. They want black people to accept this sexual perversion as normal. These Hollywood elitists make me sick to my stomach! They can all go to hell!!!! I will never let them disrespect my great ancestors that fought for us. I’m so tired of these Neanderthal albino mutants. Nothing but filthy cave beasts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m feelin’ ya, bro. I’m sooo tired of this mess myself. We need to be removed from the influence of the white population ASAP. The longer Black people are exposed to these anti-peoples, the further down in shit many of us seem to go. Our heroes and sheroes were ABSOLUTELY NOT gay. I remember Negress wrote a post about how these creatures are trying to turn us into them. There were NO practice of homosexual behavior prior to European influence. Whether people like it or not, the 42 Rules of MAAT speaks against this behavior. It just goes against the laws of nature. This behavior is natural for whites because their anti-nature.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So now they saying Nat Turner is gay, huh? I remember Henry Louis “Skip” Gates, Jr. and some albino was sayin Nat Turner planned his slave rebellion cause he wanted a white woman so bad *eyes roll* Dr. Leonard Jeffries and the Pan-Afrikan community gave Gates and his albino mutant master the what for. Besides Manning Marable, “Skip” Gates is another one frontin as a pan-african scholar. Man, what Negroes will do to please the master. smdh. Man I tell ya this shit is out of control.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Gates is another black devil! He also married to a cave bitch. I’ve seen her too. She is absolutely hideous! I expect him to sellout his people. That’s what he gets paid to do. He’s a real low life!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree. Why would anyone want to sell out like that? They don’t realize that they may get away with that mess in this life, but you will be dealt in the next. The ancestors and the gods are watching. As far as Gates, I thought he was pretty legit until I saw that he kisses white ass…..and then I was through. No, wonder he’s a sellout he married white supremacy and what’s ironic is I recall a few years ago I saw a video in which his bi-racial daughter speaking out against IR. lol Damn, I guess his own offspring from that union see his hypocrisy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

