Quote of the Day

curly-hair-model

“So I beg of you to always carry a mirror, whether you are a man or a woman, to look at yourself daily. Then you’ve got to have a good feeling about that face you’ve got, the texture of hair you’ve got, and all the fine features you’ve got. I don’t know about you, brothers, but when I look at the face of that African woman, I see heaven!”– Dr. Yosef A.A. ben-Johannan, from his lecture on The African Contribution to Science and Technology, delivered on March 6-8, 1986 for  the Minority Ethnic Unit of the Greater London Council, London, England

8 thoughts on “Quote of the Day

  1. I was really saddened to hear of the about the death of Yosef A.A. ben-Johannan. A buddy of mine told me. His book Black man of The Nile was one of the first books to open my mind to the greatness of black people. His death is a HUGE loss to the black community. I learned a lot from him. He was an amazing teacher! He will be greatly missed. Rest in Power Dr Ben. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    1. @KP

      I’m sorry to hear that, I see from various black educational sites that he was one of the masters. I remember when you said something on one of your blogs a few years back that he was in a nursing home and was 90 something years old. I haven’t read any of his books yet (I have em on my wish list and will order), but have read some of his lectures. It is indeed a great loss when we lose one of our greats. When did he pass?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I believe he passed away on Thursday. It’s a huge loss. He was a great man. He dedicated his life to educating black people. And Lord knows we need it! Major props to this man! He has my utmost respect.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

